What is the CSA?

CSA Safety

CSA stands for Compliance, Safety, Accountability. It is an FMCSA initiative that grades commercial carriers based on various safety-related criteria.

There are three core components to CSA:

1 - The Safety Measurement System (SMS)
2 - Interventions
3 - A Safety Fitness Determination (SFD) rating system to determine the safety fitness of motor carriers

The SFD rating is also known as a CSA score and can influence how frequency of roadside inspections, the number of DOT audits and insurance premiums.